South Korea dispatches troops to Gulf of Aden

  • article

Seoul, Aug. 13 (BNA): South Korea’s Navy has dispatched a fresh batch of troops to the Gulf of Aden for anti-piracy efforts, amid speculation the contingent could also undertake missions in the Strait of Hormuz as part of a US-led coalition, South Korean news agency (Yonhap) reported.

 

The 30th batch of the Cheonghae Unit departed the southern port city of Busan to conduct anti-piracy missions off the coast of Somalia for six months, starting in September, according to the South Korean Navy.

 

The 300-strong contingent operating the 4,400-ton destroyer, the Kang Gam Chan, is composed of special forces, including an Underwater Demolition Team, a Navy SEAL team, Marines and Navy pilots, aimed at protecting South Korean vessels off the Somali coast and providing support to ships of other nations in nearby waters.

 

Though Seoul has said it has not received any official requests from the U.S. on the issue, U.S. Secretary of Defense Mark Esper stressed the importance of the freedom of navigation in the region and called for international support while meeting with Defense Minister Jeong Kyeong-doo last week in Seoul, Yonhap added.

 

WHQ

كوريا الجنوبية ترسل قطعا عسكرية الى خليج عدن وتوجه لتشمل مضيق هرمز

  • article

سيؤول في 13 أغسطس/ بنا / قالت القوات البحرية في كوريا الجنوبية اليوم الثلاثاء إنه من المقرر إرسال دفعة جديدة لوحدة "تشونغ هيه" العسكرية إلى خليج عدن اليوم للقيام بعمليات مكافحة القرصنة هناك، وسط تكهنات بإمكانية قيام الوحدة أيضا بمهام في مضيق هرمز كجزء من تحالف عسكري بقيادة الولايات المتحدة.


ومن المقرر أن تغادر الدفعة الـ 30 لوحدة "تشونغ هيه" مدينة بوسان الساحلية الجنوبية في وقت لاحق من اليوم للقيام بمهام مكافحة القرصنة قبالة سواحل الصومال لمدة 6 أشهر ابتداء من شهر سبتمبر، بحسب وكالة الانباء "يونهاب".


وتهدف الدفعة الـ 30 والتي يبلغ قوامها 300 فرد وتؤدي مهامها على متن المدمرة "كانغ -غام- تشان" البالغ وزنها 4,400 طن، إلى حماية السفن الكورية الجنوبية قبالة السواحل الصومالية وتقديم الدعم لسفن الدول الأخرى في المياه القريبة.


وعلى الرغم من أن كوريا الجنوبية قالت إنها لم تتلق أي طلبات رسمية من الولايات المتحدة بشأن هذه القضية، فقد أكد وزير الدفاع الأمريكي مارك إسبر على أهمية حرية الملاحة في المنطقة ودعا إلى دعم دولي أثناء لقائه الأخير بوزير الدفاع جونغ كيونغ-دو في الأسبوع الماضي في سيئول.


و.ش


بنا 0608 جمت 13/08/2019